Hoop Dreams

So, I just wrapped up a rather uneventful season of intramural or “old man” basketball. I learned a lot about myself and posted next to nothing for a long time. My apologies on the blogging drought. Here are a few of my thoughts:

A) I’m still wildly out of shape, cardiovascular shape to be exact. Running up and down the court for more than 5 minutes drains me totally. And when you are fat and out of shape you really don’t feel like doing MORE running to get into better shape for the next time you run. I got to get back into walking mode! Basketball is fun and scratches a competitive itch, but the pace is hard to sustain.

2) Perfectionism is still a thing in my life. I found it wildly infuriating when I missed a lay up or free throw, which happened all too often. Then to compound the matter, I found myself dwelling on my missed shots after the game, whether lay-ups or free throws…at home. NO. BODY. CARES!!! I’m torturing myself for what purpose? It’s recreational basketball. I’m beating myself up and agitated over my lack of skills just because. I don’t know why…why can’t I move on with life? How do you overcome perfectionism? Please comment and let me know your approach.

Well I guess that’s it. I had two points. Bang bang!

I hope everyone is doing well and working out more consistently than I.

One thought on “Hoop Dreams

  1. Pingback: Winter Whiplash: Week 1 – Getting Fatter. Whoops. | Destroy Dad Bod

Leave a comment